Announcing the Winners of the 2020 Fingal Poetry Prize

Many congratulations to the prize-winners of the first-ever Fingal Poetry Prize

The winning poems are:

1st: John Baylis Post, Reredos
2nd: Jim McElroy, Rivermouth
3rd: Chandrika Narayanan Mohan, Stargazing With My Mother
Highly Commended:
A.M. Cousins, Sestina for Maggie
Monica De Bhailís, The Grey Scrape of the Spring
Chandrika Narayanan Mohan, Ararat
Brian Kirk, Hard Swallows
Eithne Lannon, Oileán na Sionnach

The poets reading their poems can be viewed on our website now.  

Other commended poems are:

Jim McElroy, The Attic Room
Eileen Anne Gordon, Harebells
Kim Nall, Shedding
Eamon McGuinness, Blood Harmonies
Jim McElroy, Born Opposite
Ivy Bannister, ROSEBUDS
Rory Duffy, Dinner at Chernobyl
Tamsin Hopkins, Vellum
Lynn Caldwell, 50 years after the moon landing
Eileen Anne Gordon, To Catch the Light.
Rory Duffy, A Lake Dwellers Death
Partridge Boswell, The New Math
John Baylis Post, Christmas, Puerto Del Carmen

As these poems especially impressed our judge, Mary O’Donnell, we are delighted and proud to present some of them, as read by their authors, as part of the 2020 Fingal Poetry Festival.  They will be available to watch online from Sunday, 6 September 2020, at 11 am.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: