Online: Reading of the Eight Prize Winning Poems

Many congratulations to the prize-winners of the first-ever Fingal Poetry Prize!  Their poems can be viewed here now.

The winning poems:

1st: John Baylis Post, Reredos
2nd: Jim McElroy, Rivermouth
3rd: Chandrika Narayanan Mohan, Stargazing With My Mother

Highly Commended:

A.M. Cousins, Sestina for Maggie
Monica De Bhailís, The Grey Scrape of the Spring
Chandrika Narayanan Mohan, Ararat
Brian Kirk, Hard Swallows
Eithne Lannon, Oileán na Sionnach

Fingal Poetry Festival Logo

Other commended poems are:

Jim McElroy, The Attic Room
Eileen Anne Gordon, Harebells
Kim Nall, Shedding
Eamon McGuinness, Blood Harmonies
Jim McElroy, Born Opposite
Ivy Bannister, ROSEBUDS
Rory Duffy, Dinner at Chernobyl
Tamsin Hopkins, Vellum
Lynn Caldwell, 50 years after the moon landing
Eileen Anne Gordon, To Catch the Light.
Rory Duffy, A Lake Dwellers Death
Partridge Boswell, The New Math
John Baylis Post, Christmas, Puerto Del Carmen

As these poems especially impressed our judge, Mary O’Donnell, we are delighted and proud to present some of them, as read by their authors, as part of the 2020 Fingal Poetry Festival.  They will be available to watch online from Sunday, 6 September 2020, at 11 am.

%d bloggers like this: